1. IEEE Region 7 (Canada), Student Paper Prize, 1963
2. J. Edgar McAllister Fellowship, 1965-66
3. National Research Council Studentship, 1966-67
4. National Science Foundation Fellowship (USA), 1966
5. ASEE-Dow Outstanding Young Faculty Award, 1972
6. National Research Council Senior Industrial Fellowship, 1972-73
7. ASEE Outstanding Campus Activity Co-ordinator, Zone 1, 1979
(Shared with R.E. Burridge)
8. IEEE Regional Activities Board Innovation Award, 1989, "For exceptional leadership in the promotion and improvement of student activities in Region 7, IEEE."
9. Fellow, IEEE, 1994, for "Contributions to analysis and measurement of electrical machine characteristics."
10. Fellow, EIC, 1996
11. Canadian Pacific Railway Engineering Medal, EIC, 1998.
12. IEEE- Canada Merit Award, 1999
13. IEEE Millennium Medal, 2000
14. IEEE Canada W.S.Read Outstanding Service Medal, 2002
15. IEEE Toronto Section Centennial Medal, 2003
16. IEEE Canada McNaughton Medal, April 23, 2007 in recognition of "outstanding contributions to the analysis and design of electrical machines, particularly to the theory and measurement of shaft currents in induction motors, and for leadership in the profession".

17. IEEE Haradan Pratt Award for outstanding Service to IEEE, 2010 for sustained leadership at IEEE and Regional Levels in Affecting Change for IEEE and its Members